2011 – Epitaph

As 2011 draws to a close, I must say that I am actually looking forward to 2012 with enthusiasm.

While 2011 was primarily a depressing year what with all the talk of recession, depression, NAMA, IMF, the EU’s faltering fumbling attempts to work out a resolution. Mainly economic rubbish. Economists are having their 15 minutes of fame.

To be honest, I have found that if you (a) don’t watch or listen to the news (b) don’t read newspapers and (c) have a job, little has changed. Unless you want to buy or sell a house. Prospective buyers cannot get a mortgage and sellers keep lowering prices to try and attract the non-viable buyers. In turn, this dupes the “media into reporting that house prices continue to fall and thereby prolong the agony of “the recession”. Ho hum. Nothing most of us can do to change this. Just wait. Time will heal it. No amount of worrying will change anything except our health. And remember, your health is your wealth. Without it, no amount of money can compensate.

So 2012. If nothing else, it marks the advancement of time. Each day brings us nearer to whatever actually happens to get back to “growth”. So for that reason, I’m in!

New years resolutions? Not for me. I know what I want to do and I resolve to do it. And here I am doing just that.

I read this interesting piece and it influenced me to change my Twitter profile. See if you can spot the changes 🙂

I also received a Kindle for christmas. (Little “c” purposefully)
It is nothing short of magnificent. I never would have dreamed that the mere portability of it would allow me to read so much more. Yet it does just that. I am impressed.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

